My Hospital Visit.and Others.

Salam Alaykum! Hi peeps! :)

I will be sitting for a formative exam next week but i need to write now! It has been so long and i really miss writing. I might not be very good but i love doing this. So bear with me!

I get so busy that the photos i captured through my phone are piling up already. So lets go through some random pics i took throughout my stay in IMU till today so i can delete them from my phone! :))

1. Our first meal at our new home.

2. Our first lecture, i think.

3. MSOC Welcoming Party!

4. Medic students’ fav bookshop.

5. Anis’s pillow that fell from the 13th floor. =_=” Can you see it?

6. “makan sambil borak” as Chern called it – with all JPA scholars from our batch. :)

7. Talk by our seniors from Thomas Jefferson Uni (IMU’s Partner Medical School)

8. Interfaith Forum. :)

9. One of the talks organized by MSOC . Others include Fiqh Medic I & II, and the upcoming Super Muslim Student.

10. My first stethoscope!

11. Oh. IMU, it should be the first pic but yeah..

12. ISOW’s (in support of women society) welcoming party. It’s cool and so i joined. :) The first event – HPV awareness campaign. It’s a good experience but made me feel like a salesgirl. =.=

13. Here comes the pic of our main story today! My hospital visit..! oh, btw, that’s baby Nasuha & all my friends who wanted to carry her!

When we left IMU for the hospital which i’m assigned to, I was excited and nervous as well. Not my first time doing hospital visit though but the bad impressions and warnings the seniors gave about The Hospital definitely took its toll. I tried to be as positive as I can and reminded myself that it all depends on my mind set and I alone decide on how I feel and react. I tried not to expect much. And i didn’t even expect anything like JPA’s hospital visit which was obviously more fun.

The trip was definitely a meaningful one though and getting the right mind set surely helped a lot. I and a few friends bonded well with a patient –> Mr. Palaniyappan. He was a very nice uncle and was willing to explain a lot on his medical history. I noticed that he was quite happy to have us around talking to him. He told us quite a lot about himself, his family and his stay at the hospital, it just proved how much he wanted someone to talk to and how lonely and boring he felt staying there for almost a week already now *if i’m not mistaken*. All the emotions he had when he talked was pretty obvious…  to just listen to some stranger’s story as if we’ve known each other for a long time was kinda weird but a bliss of course. The experience was priceless. It’s a shame that I can’t converse in Tamil or it would have been even more meaningful.

The nurses and doctors were busy but they do seem relaxed, most probably because the hospital is quite small and the workload is reasonable. I choose not to comment much on how the healthcare professionals there are like. But right now, i really wanna go overseas and have a first hand experience on how their healthcare system is like.

I believe that the way healthcare professionals treat people should not be influenced by outside factors. It might be hard, definitely not easy to control your feelings, emotions, stress etc and maintain your manners and ethics towards the others. Isn’t that what professionalism is all about; pursuing perfection *despite knowing that nobody is or would ever be perfect*? Professionalism, from my point of view is a commitment.

“Commitment ignites action. To commit is to pledge yourself to a certain purpose or line of conduct. It also means practicing your beliefs consistently. There are, therefore, two fundamental conditions for commitment. The first is having a sound set of beliefs. There is an old saying that goes, “Stand for something or you’ll fall for anything.” The second is faithful adherence to those beliefs with your behavior. Possibly the best description of commitment is “persistence with a purpose”. . .”

Our way thinking is one of the reasons why house officers are still being bullied and the ‘tradition’ continues. Some choose to end their lives. But why not choose to change the system? Well, it is hard to make a difference ’cause it requires a great deal of effort, commitment, and perseverance. It will not be easy but it must be changed..

*i think i went quite far from my main topic*

Oh, the exciting part! We met a baby girl, Nasuha who is 8 months old at the paediatric ward. She’s so cute I might die! *exaggerated* She made me felt so happy MasyaAllah. I love her the moment I saw her! She’s soooo people friendly and i think almost all of us *girls especially* were glad to have her there *not that we like the fact that she gets admitted!*.

I would like to talk more on this but i REALLY need to study.

BYE! Ma’as Salamah!

Salam,

AzizaBaik

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

