Random: Quotes from Malaysia’s Baba Ranchoddas. +Exam. +Death.

Baba Ranchoddas is the nickname given to Amir Khan (who played Ranchoddas) in the movie 3 Idiots because he always comes up with brilliant motivating quotes.

Throughout our study break my awesome housemate Ijat started uttering strange sentences that we thought should be quoted. So I nicknamed her Malaysia’s Baba Ranchoddas and started noting down if she says weird things. It was really fun “project” and we will be waiting together for her to come up with spontaneous quotable sentences. You may not be able to relate to some but that’s okay.

Here goes:

1)  30th Nov 2013 (As we were discussing on our PMS essay – it’s about our future plan)

“Can’t I dream a cliche dream?!”

2) 21st Dec 2013 (We were discussing about Pain (one of the subtopics in Neurology) and I haven’t smiled that day)

“How can you feel pain when you can’t even smile?”

3) 23rd Dec 2013 (After saying she loves me and I gave a weird-cum-questioning look as in asking what she wants actually)

“No.. just for the sake of loving you”

4) 24th Dec 2013 (When studying Neurology. I think she was stressed so she started crapping)

“I would be a Neurocardiosurgeon and implant brain tissues on the heart so it can think for itself. ”

ps: she was referring to those love-struck people who always “follow their heart” and make irrational decisions for the sake of love.

Quotes from other people around me:

1) Liyana’s mother when she complains of not remembering some things she studied before.

“Takpe. Apa yang Kak Long tak ingat tu takkan masuk periksa!”   TERBAIK *thumbs up*

“It’s okay. What you can’t remember won’t come out (in exam)!”

2) Dr. Puru (IMU pathologist and most awesome doctor) on preserving our brain cells. This is for us all.

“If you hold you breath for 30 seconds, one neuron dies. Though other neurons may compensate, you don’t want to simply lose your brain cells.  You need all that’s available.”

**This was originally written on the 4th of Jan 2014

***

First Professional Exam Part 1 (my end of semester 4 exam)

It was the 1st part of the most important exam we’d face in phase 1.
I wasn’t ready for the exam.
I should have studied more.
I should have worked harder.
I should have focused more and not get distracted so easily.
I didn’t manage to cover everything.
I .. (insert a lot more mistakes).

I passed.
Allah.
Allah.
It was all from Him. I claim no credit for passing.

إِنْ يَنْصُرْكُمُ اللَّهُ فَلَا غَالِبَ لَكُمْ ۖ وَإِنْ يَخْذُلْكُمْ فَمَنْ ذَا الَّذِي يَنْصُرُكُمْ مِنْ بَعْدِهِ ۗ وَعَلَى اللَّهِ فَلْيَتَوَكَّلِ الْمُؤْمِنُونَ

If Allah helps you, then there is none who can overcome you. If He forsakes you, then who else is there other than Him who can help you? Therefore, In Allah let the believers put their trust. [3:160]

I actually would like to, InsyaAllah, write a post for my (dear) juniors on what I wish I did for this exam. Probably you guys can start doing those things for better results (than mine).

And just to remind us all;

Tawakkal is having full faith that Allah will take care of you even when things look impossible
Yasmin Mogahed

***

Death.

Yesterday, my relative Mohd Shahir bin Abdul Rahman passed away after being comatose for near 3 days.

إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعونَ
Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’un [2:156]
(Indeed we belong to Allah , and indeed to Him we will return.)

Since we’re not that close, I never really know how Allahyarham (late) Shahir was as a person. But his death taught me so much about life.

Please please please make dua so Allah forgive his sins, grant him steadfastness and an eternal life in Jannah (heaven).

Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H.) in an authentic Hadith said;
Make dua’ of Istighfar (supplicate for forgiveness) for your brother and request steadfastness for him because he is now being questioned
(Authentic -Abu Dawood)

Allah. It was really heartbreaking to see the state his father was in.  A very kind and generous businessman whom I really really respect. He was trying hard to be strong but he looked weak. He lost his 3rd son 2 years ago (in Sept 2012) and now, another (late Shahir was his 2nd son). Both through an accident. Allah. Allah. May Allah grant him strength and patience through this hard times. Please make dua for this man for he is like my father too. I know that he knows that Allah love his sons more and this is a test for him and they insyaAllah, will be united back in Jannah.

Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) said: 
“Allah says: I have no better reward than Paradise for a believer servant of Mine who is patient and resigned when I take away one of his/her beloved, one among those he/she most cherishes in the world ” 
(Bukhari).

I know that we can be ‘called’ to return to Him anytime but today, this fact slapped me hard.

Am I prepared to die?

Kal Ho Naa Ho. Very true, aye?
(there may or may not be a tomorrow).

Allah.

Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H.) said in an authentic hadith;
Be in this world as a traveler or stranger
(Bukhari).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

