Books of the Month (February)

Can’t really write longer than this. I have a report to re-edit and finish, tonnes of … nope, let’s skip this part where I go on and on about how busy my life is. That’s just how life is, for everyone – I guess?

I’m gonna start with #3 (continuing from Jan).

#3 The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

It’s an amazing story but I only cried twice (I can’t even remember for which part) although I expected to cry more. But trust me, it gets to you. I choked and suffocated multiple times. I love their dialogues and the way the story was told.  I can quote a lot of beautiful phrases but one that quickly pops up when I think TFiOS is this:

“Look, let me just say it: He was hot. A non-hot boy stares at you relentlessly and it is, at best, awkward and, at worst, a form of assault. But a hot boy . . . well.”

I can’t stop smiling each time I think of that sentence.

The movie is coming out end of this year.

#4 KL Noir (compilation of short stories) edited by Amir Muhammad

So, this is a compilation of short stories by Malaysian writers. The language is brilliant but the story lines are weird. It’s too dark and I don’t understand the message behind such stories. Dark and dirty. Why? What are they trying to say? I stopped halfway.. too depressing. I love a few writers from the book and I wish I get to read their happy-and-not-too-depressing stories.

#5 The Learning Curve – David Sedari (short story)

It’s a story about a teacher who’s trying to really teach his students, the challenges he faces and how he overcomes ’em. I think I’m gonna buy his compilation of short stories; Me Talk Pretty One Day (in which this story is included).

Actually I was interested (only) after I heard that Gubler (Matthew G. Gubler) acted in a short called The Learning Curve which was  (obviously) based on this story by Sedari.

#6 Board Review Series: Behavioral Sciences by Barbara Fadem

Still on it.

#7 The Innocent Man by John Grisham

This is based on a true story. Just started. I just want to understand how cool lawyers can be. :) I like behavior analysis and profiling a criminal is the best aspect of behavioral analysis. If forensic in Malaysia is not so quiet and boring, I might even consider it.

ps: Just got my own copy of The Complete Sherlock Holmes (all the four books and 5 short stories)! I know Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a great writer, can’t wait to experience that. February 2014  is turning into a month of fiction! I rarely read fictions and now, looks like the non-fictions will have to wait.

2 thoughts on “Books of the Month (February)

Add yours

  1. Ah. I thought KL Noir sounded so cool… What are some good Malaysian authors you’d recommend (that are available in English)?
    Oh and The Fault in our Stars I loved. Only cried once though I think.

    1. KL Noir is good but depressing at the same time! haha.

      I don’t really know a lot of Malaysian (English) authors but I’d recommend books published by Fixi Novo. They publish “urban contemporary Malaysian pulp fiction in the American language” – that’s their word. :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

